home » blog » We’re More “Experienced” Than Ever Before…

ARChive news

We’re More “Experienced” Than Ever Before…

Nestled in the more than 300 Hendrix releases in the Mark Jacobson Collection of 12,000 plus recordings donated to ARC is this never played French LP – Part of the Series Panache. (Are You Experienced? Barclay; France, 0820143, 12″, vinyl disc-LP, Mint, Mono [1967]).

Besides having a satisfyingly psychedelic cover this album offers 8 songs from the original 1967 Reprise release, and 3 different ones; “Red House,” “Can You See Me” and “Remember.”  Oddly, three cuts on the original US release sure to thrill any young Frenchie, are not included here, “Purple Haze,” “Hey Joe,” and “The Wind Cries Mary.”

By the way, other “Experience” iterations, all never played, also included in this magnificent collection include:

  • The original 1967 release on Reprise, US, Mono
  • Original Track Records (Polydor) UK, 1967, Mono
  • Original Polydor, Japan w/ Obi band on cover, 1967, Mono
  • Original 1967 Polydor, Germany, Stereo
  • Polydor International, UK reissue
  • “Twosome” 2 LP package bundled w/ “Axis: Bold As Love” Polydor, UK
  • Polydor, Germany, “2 Original LP’s” similar to the UK version

And just for fun we also got a 4 track, stereo, 7.5ips, 7” reel to reel ‘Experience” tape in the original box, Reprise, US.

Here’s a look at some of the Hendrix recordings recently donated!


comments are closed...

...but you can always email us